Review: Best Day Ever

bestday
**3 Goodreads Stars**

Let me preface this review with a caveat about my reading preferences. I am not a huge fan of fiction written in first person. It’s taken me awhile to figure this out, and I think it took this book to solidify my feelings about it. My dislike of first person is probably why I didn’t enjoy this book as much as others.

Also, I should warn readers that if domestic violence triggers you, you should not read this book.

From the first few pages of Best Day Ever, I could tell that the narrator, Paul, was a dangerous person, and was plotting to do something horrible to his wife, Mia, over the course of the “best day ever” he was planning. The book is narrated by Paul, which provides the reader a glimpse into the mind and rationale of a psychopath. It took me a couple tries to get into the book because Paul is so intense and terrifying. I found myself reading to find out what happens to Paul’s wife and children.

I won’t give away the plot, but thankfully someone turns the tables on Paul. I did find myself wondering how someone might do so given Paul’s attention to every single detail of his life and the lives of the people around him. Perhaps psychopaths who have to fake their emotions act this way, constantly observing how other people act and behave so that they can mimic that behavior and “pass” as normal. His mind and thoughts were constantly in motion, and it was pretty exhausting to read that process.

Others really loved this book, so if you are into thrillers and suspense this might be for you.

Thank you to the author, Kaira Rouda, the publisher, Harlequin, and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review Best Day Ever.

Leave a Reply

